Interactive Guitar Scale & Video
Phrygian Mode

The Phrygian mode is a minor musical mode or diatonic scale and may be constructed from the major scale starting on the third scale degree. The scale consists of flat 2, flat 3, flat 6, and flat 7 in the starting pitch's major scale.

Interactive Practice Guitar Scale - Phrygian Mode
View Full Scale
A Minor


Examples include the following:

  • The E Phrygian mode is the C major scale starting on E.
  • The A Phrygian mode is the F major scale starting on A.
  • The B Phrygian mode is the G major scale starting on B.

NOTE: Jazz musicians use the Phrygian mode over a "sus4(b9)" chord


Editors Picks Sponsers Advertisement

1998-2007 - AITT Music Inc.